Strategic Plan

Strategic Plan

Drone photo of Wilson Hall

Converse College Innovative Strategic Plan 2018-2023

Converse College’s strategic plan was created around a framework that is grounded in our Mission and Core Values. It is guided by our Vision to be nationally recognized as an excellent doctoral university, acclaimed as a center for creative thinking and learning and as a community that produces engaged citizens who effect positive change.

Three themes serve as pillars for the plan, in order to align mission-driven initiatives with market-driven demands: Vibrant Community, Academic Excellence, and Sustainable Future.

Planning Process

The strategic planning process took place throughout 2018. The first phase of the plan, outlined below, was announced in Fall 2018. Next steps include research for each initiative to develop actionable plans, budgets, and timelines. The plan’s evolution will continue, and it will guide the College through its completion in 2023.

Infographic of phase one
Infographic of strategic plan process

Strategic Plan Themes & Overview

Infographic of three thems of strategic plan

Phase I: Strategic Initiatives

Vibrant Community

Infographic of vibrant community theme

Academic Excellence

Infographic of academic excellence strategic plan

Sustainable Future

Infographic of sustainable future strategic plan

Strategic Alignment & Theme Teams

Thank you to the Strategic Alignment Team, which provided oversight for the plan as a whole, and to our three Theme Teams, which focused on developing initiatives for each of the plans themes. Team members were appointed by Converse President Krista Newkirk. Their time and talents successfully guided our planning process, and helped lead to our new key strategies and goals.


  • Krista Newkirk, President
  • Jeff Barker, Provost
  • Jenn Bell, Athletic Director
  • Krista Bofill, VP Institutional Advancement
  • Will Case, Asst. Prof. of Chemistry & Co-chair of NHP
  • Zach Corbitt, CIO
  • Nancy Gage, Database Programmer
  • Nikeshia Gilliam, HR Director
  • Boone Hopkins, Dean SOA/APSS
  • Beth Lancaster, Dir. Media Relations
  • Robin Leslie, VP Finance & Administration
  • Lienne Medford, Dean Education & Grad. Studies
  • Rhonda Mingo, Dean of Students
  • Trevor Pittman, AVP Enrollment Management
  • Wendy Vinson, Dean of Admissions
  • Jessica Sorrells, Chair Mathematics and Computer Science Department


Vibrant Community

David Berry
Natalie Brown
Mary Carlisle
Lakisha Dolata
Cymone Eldridge
Bethany Garr
Keshia Gilliam, Co-Chair
Yvonne Harper
Boone Hopkins, Co-Chair
Jason Loscuito
Patti McGowan
Gladden Smoke
Wendy Vinson

Academic Excellence

Jeff Barker, Co-Chair
Reed Chewning
Amy Cox
Gabriel Ford
Lee Givins
Kathy Hennigan
Julie Jones
Susana Lalama
Cori McClure
Julia Sharpe
Edna Steele
Jessica Williams, Co-Chair

Sustainable Future

Wendi Arms
Jessica Backman
Krista Bofill, Co-Chair
Dianne Crocker
Tori McLean Good
JW Kellam
Robin Leslie, Co-Chair
Lisa Marchi
Tania McDuffie
Maggie Park
Yuliya Rigg
Sarah Spigner
Tammy Stokes
Jodi Strehl

See COVID-19 campus updates, office hours and resources  COVID-19 Updates >