On February 25, 2022, the Converse University Board of Trustees announced the selection of Boone J. Hopkins, PhD, as the University’s twelfth president. Hopkins was introduced during an all-campus meeting on February 25, and began his tenure on March 1, 2022.

Advised by a search committee that included trustees, alumni, students, faculty, and staff, the Board of Trustees unanimously approved Hopkins’ appointment.

Presidential Announcement Details

2021-22 Presidential Search Committee members


  • Randall Chambers
  • Phyllis Perrin Harris ‘82
  • Ken Howard (Life Trustee)
  • Karla Jones ‘85
  • Wallace Davison Prestwood ’89
  • Linda Layman Redding ‘88

Faculty, staff, and students

  • Mike Kennedy, Assistant Vice President for Philanthropy
  • Randy Loggins, Deputy Director of Athletics
  • Karen Mims, Student Government Association President, ‘22
  • Margaret Moore, Faculty Senate President and Associate Professor of Physical Education
  • Madelyn Young, Associate Professor of Economics

Ex officio

  • Sandra Shearouse Morelli ’78, Converse Board of Trustees Chair
  • Pamela Greenway, Senior Executive Assistant to the President and Assistant Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Updates and Communications