New Board Members at Converse College

SPARTANBURG, S.C.– On July 1, 2001, Converse College welcomed a new Chairman of the Board of Trustees and four new Board members.

Mary Rainey Belser of Columbia, SC

A 1969 graduate of Converse College, Mary begins her two-year term as Chairman of the Converse College Board of Trustees. She succeeds Julia Jones Daniels, a 1953 Converse graduate who had served as chairman since 1999.

“In selecting Mary Rainey Belser, the Board of Trustees has chosen a person superbly prepared for the responsibilities of the chairmanship,” said Nancy Oliver Gray, president of Converse. “She is a wonderful leader, has a comprehensive understanding of the Converse mission, and has an enduring commitment to the College.”

Belser, an Anderson, S.C. native who now lives in Columbia, has served as a Converse trustee since 1995. One of the college’s most successful fund-raisers, she became chair of the development committee of the board in 1997. She led the effort to complete the Johnson Challenge in 1999, and is currently co-chairing the major gifts portion of the Campaign for Converse: Building for the Future.

New members to the Board include:

William Lowndes III of Spartanburg SC

A native of Greenville, SC, William earned a bachelor of science degree from The Citadel. He went on to serve as a captain with the Corps of Engineers. He is currently the Chairman and Treasurer at Tindall Corporation in Spartanburg. He also serves on the South Carolina Policy Council, the Liberty Mutual Advisory Board, and the Citadel Foundation.

William will serve on the building and grounds, and business and finance committees during the first year of his term on the Converse Board.

Jane Spratt McColl of Charlotte, NC

A 1960 alumna of Converse College, Jane currently serves on the Presbyterian Hospital Review Board. She has previously worked with the North Carolina School of Arts, the Charlotte Latin School, and the Davidson College Parents Council.

During the first year of her term with Converse, Jane will serve on the enrollment and student affairs committees.

Kenneth B. Howard of Raleigh, NC

Originally from Dunn, NC, Ken earned a bachelor of science in business administration from the University of North Carolina, and a juris doctor degree from Wake Forest University. He is currently executive vice president and general manager for A4 Health Systems in Cary, NC.

Ken will serve on the audit, development, and enrollment committees during the first year of his Converse term.

Rochelle Thomason Grubb of Lexington, NC

A 1958 graduate of Converse College, Rochelle also earned a master of science degree in housing and home management from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro. She is currently chairman of the board for Grubb Properties, Inc., a family-owned real estate company. She also serves on the boards of the UNC Lineberger Cancer Center, the Lexington Enrichment Center, and the First Reformed United Church of Christ. She has previously served as director of Davidson County Domestic Violence, Uptown Revitalization, and the Davidson County Museum of Art.

Rochelle will serve on the building and grounds, business and finance, and development committees during the first year of her term on the Converse Board.

Share This Story:

Related Posts