Converse to Virtually Co-Host 36th Annual International Model NATO

Converse to Virtually Co-Host 36th Annual International Model NATO

Converse Tower

Share This


Converse College is honored to virtually co-host the 36th Annual International Model NATO on February 12-14, 2021. The Model is headquartered at Howard University in Washington, D.C. The 2021 International Model NATO will give college students from 29 institutions the opportunity to discuss global political and economic issues while honing their skills in public speaking and diplomacy through a conference replicating NATO’s model of assembly and discourse.

Each year, colleges and universities from around the United States, Canada, and Europe come together to compete in a simulated assembly of the North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO). Because the 2021 Model is virtual, a number of Central and Eastern European countries, who cannot travel to Washington, will be able to participate. The 2021 Keynote Address will be delivered by the NATO Assistant Secretary General for Public Diplomacy, Ambassador Baiba Braže.

“The International Model NATO competition gives students the chance to put their diplomatic abilities to the test and practice what they have learned in the classroom,” remarked Dr. Joe P. Dunn, Model NATO Advisor and Converse Professor of History and Politics, Chair of History and Politics. “This model of learning brings concepts of international affairs and politics to life through real discussions of global issues. I am looking forward to Converse hosting the competition virtually this year and I am proud of the work my students have put into designing this year’s model of competition.”

The virtual 2021 model was designed by International Model NATO Secretary General and Converse Student Government Association President, Kennedy Anderson. The 2021 International Model NATO Secretariat will include 6 other Converse students in leadership positions:

  • Kennedy Anderson as Secretary General,
  • Delaney Leslie as Assistant Secretary General and Chair of the North Atlantic Council,
  • Breeana Cowan as Chair of the Political Committee,
  • Madison Orcurto as Chair of the Military Committee,
  • Emilee Panhorst as Chair of the Partnerships and Cooperative Security Committee,
  • Erin Kitchenka as Chair of the Committee on Emerging Security Challenges, and Hayley Gordon as Chief of Staff.

Converse has been the permanent Secretariat administering the Model and providing the Secretary General and the other leaders since 2006. This year Converse will represent the Netherlands and the Republic of North Macedonia, the newest member of NATO. Converse has been selected as the Outstanding Delegation for 13 of the 15 years in which it has participated.

Download the press release here.

See COVID-19 campus updates, office hours and resources  COVID-19 Updates >