Julia Peterkin Award

Established in 1997 by the Department of English and Creative Writing at Converse College, the Julia Peterkin Award is a national contest honoring both emerging and established poets and writers. The award is named for Converse graduate Julia Mood Peterkin who won the Pulitzer Prize for her novel Scarlet Sister Mary.

The 2014 Julia Peterkin Award at Converse College

 Submission Guidelines for the Julia Peterkin Award


 The 2014 Julia Peterkin Award is open to all poets writing original works in English. Previously published works are eligible for inclusion in the submission.

 Manuscript Format Guidelines

 Entries must be typed on quality paper, 8 1/2 by 11.  Photocopies or copies from letter-quality printers are acceptable. Each entry must include no more than 10 poems or a maximum of 15 pages. In addition include a cover page with the writer’s name, address, daytime phone number, and titles of submission. Also include a one-page biography. Author’s name should not appear on the poems.

Entry Requirements

 •An entry fee of $15 made payable to:  Converse College English Department. Deadline:  Feb. 15, 2014.

 •Send one copy of the manuscript prepared according to format guidelines.

 •Winner will be contacted directly and results will be announced online at the Julia Peterkin Award Page in late spring. The winner will receive $1000 and travel expenses for a reading at Converse College. Winner must be willing to read in the Fall 2014 Visiting Writers Series.

 Send entries to:  The Julia Peterkin Award, Converse College, Department of English, Spartanburg, SC 29302.

For more information, contact Prof. Rick Mulkey at (864) 596-9000 or email at rick.mulkey@converse.edu


2013 Julia Peterkin Award Winner: Frank Soos

Converse College Creative Writing Program is pleased to announce that Frank Soos of Fairbanks, Alaska has received the 2013 Julia Peterkin Award in Fiction. Soos will receive the award of $1,000, plus he will receive travel expenses to give an honorary reading from his award-wining fiction at Converse College.

Frank Soos has spent the last 26 years teaching and living in Fairbanks, Alaska. In addition to essays and stories published in various magazines and journals, he is the author of two collections of short stories, Early Yet and Unified Field Theory (winner of the Flannery O’Connor Award for Short Fiction). Non-fiction includes Bamboo Fly Rod Suite, and Double Moon, published in collaboration with his artist wife Margo Klass.